The Signs

The signs of the zodiac have special features which are being described here.


(1) Appearance and Habitat : The twelve signs of the zodiac each have a specific appearance and a habitat.
The sign Mesha resembles a ram. It circulates among the goats, the sheep and region holding wealth and precious stones. It wanders on grassy lands, and around lakes surrounded by vegetation.
The sign Vrisha resembles a bull. Cowhouses and farmlands are its place of residence.

A man and a woman bearing a trumpet and a harp represent the sign Mithuna whose places of residence are the couch and the lounge. This dual sign haunts the sports lovers and the pleasure houses.

Karkata has the appearance of a crab and lives in water. Its places of residence include water-filled garden beds, river banks and un-inhabited lands.

Simha (resembling a lion) resides in the mountains, forests, caves, inaccessible places, deep ditches and the living places of hunters.

Kanya (consists of a woman) standing in a boat and holding corn and a lamp in her hand, inhabits women's pleasure rooms.

Narda Tula is represented by a man holding a balance in his hands, and its residences include lanes, bazaars, towns, routes and buildings.

Vrishchika resembles the scorpion in appearance. It moves in crevices and pits. Its areas of residence include poisons, animal excreta, stones and insects.

Of Dhanu, the legs are like those of a horse. It is radiant and holds a bow and arrow.

The mouth of Makara is like that of a deer, shoulders like those of a bull and eyes like those of an elephant. It moves in the rivers and resides in the ocean.

Kumbha resembles a man wearing wet clothes and holding on his shoulders an empty pitcher.It moves in gambling houses and resides in drinking dens.

The sign Meena consists of two fishes lying side by side, the head of one being beside the tail of the other. It haunts pious places, temples of gods and houses of Brahmins.

(2) Parts of the body:
The various signs from Mesha onwards represent (1) head, (2) face, (3) shoulders, (4) chest, (5) heart and stomach, (6) abdomen, (7) lower abdomen and groin, (8) external genitalia, (9) thighs, (10) knees, (11) calves, and (12) feet.


(3) Stature :
Of short stature are signs Mesha, Vrisha, Kumbha and Meena (i.e., 1, 2, 11 and 12).


Of tall stature are the signs Simha, Kanya, Tula and Vrischika (i.e., 5, 6, 7 and 8).


Of even stature are the signs Mithuna, Karka, Dhanu and Makara (i.e., 3, 4, 9 and 10)
(4) Diurnal strength:
Strong during night are the signs Mesha, Vrisha, Mithuna, Karka, Dhanu and Makara. Except Mithuna, they rise by the hind side (Prishtodaya)


Strong during day are Simha, Kanya, Tula, Vrischhika, Kumbha and Meena. Except Meena, they rise by the head(Sheershodaya).


Mithuna too rises by the head.

Meena rises both by the head and the tail (Ubhayodaya)


(5) Malefic/Male :
Odd signs, viz., 1, 3, 5, 7, 9 and 11.


(6) Benefic/Female :
Even signs, viz., 2, 4, 6, 8, 10 and 12.


(7) Movable or otherwise :
Signs 1, 4, 7 and 10 are movable ; they indicate change and mobility.

Signs 2, 5, 8 and 11 are fixed ; they indicate stability and fixity.

Signs 3, 6, 9 and 12 are mixed ; they indicate a balance between the fixed and movable signs.


(8) Directions :

East   signs 1, 5 and 9.   

South signs 2, 6 and 10   

West   signs 3, 7 and 11.         

North signs 4, 8 and 12.      


(9) Inherent nature :

Fiery signs 1, 5 and 9.   

Earthy       signs 2, 6 and 10   

Airy   signs 3, 7 and 11.         

Watery       signs 4, 8 and 12.      


(10) Biological characters :

Quadrupeds   signs 1, 2, 5, posterior half of 9, and anterior half of 10,         

Bipeds       signs 3, 6, 7, 11, and anterior half of 9.         

Insect ( Keeta)    signs 4 and 8.       

Those inhabiting water (Jalachara)   signs 12, and rosterior half of 10.


(11) Constituent characters :

Mineral (Dhatu)    signs 1, 4, 7 and 10.      

Vegetable (Moola) signs 2, 5, 8 and 11.      

Animal (Jeeva)     signs 3, 6, 9 and 12.   


(12) Caste :

Kshatriya    signs 1, 5 and 9.   

Vaishya      signs 2, 6 and 10.         

Shudra       signs 3, 7 and 11.         

Brahmin      signs 4, 8 and 12


(13) Lords
Of the twelve signs, starting from Mesha, the lords are respectively Mars, Venus, Mercury, the Moon, the Sun, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Saturn and Jupiter.


(14) Rulership of Signs

Aries ruled by    Mars     

Taurus            Venus   

Gemini            Mercury        

Cancer            Moon     

Leo                Sun      

Virgo             Mercury        

Libra             Venus   

Scorpio           Mars     

Sagittarius        Jupiter        

Capricorn         Saturn         

Aquarius          Saturn         

Pisces            Jupiter
Welcome | Online Service | Yoga | Gemology | REIKI | Products | Horoscopes | Enquiry